Scholarships in Australia

Australia Awards Scholarships For International Students 2023-2024

Australian Government
Bachelors/Masters/PhD Degrees

Deadline: 1 May 2023 (annual)
Study in:  Australia
Course starts 2024

Brief Description About Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), offer full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions to people from developing countries, particularly those in the Indo-Pacific region.

Host Institution(s):

Any of the Participating Australian Institutions

Level/Field(s) of study:

Undergraduate or postgraduate programs related to your country’s priority development areas as listed on the participating country profiles.

Australia Awards are not available for training in flying aircraft, nuclear technology, or military training.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target group:

Citizens of one of the participating countries in Asia, the Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East. See the complete list of participating countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

Full tuition fees, return air travel, establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), Introductory Academic Program (IAP), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, and so on are common scholarship benefits. The full list of benefits can be found on the official website.

The scholarships are available for the minimum time required to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.

See also: Other Scholarships in AUSTRALIA

Eligibility Criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships

Applicants must meet the following requirements to be considered for a Scholarship:

  1. Be at least 18 years old on the first of February of the scholarship year
  2. Be a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and reside in and apply for the scholarship from their home country
  3. Not be an Australian citizen, have permanent residency in Australia, or be applying for a visa to live permanently in Australia
  4. At any time during the application, selection, or mobilization phases, you must not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue, and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]);
    not be active-duty military personnel
  5. Not be active-duty military personnel
  6. Not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have lived outside of Australia for twice as long as they lived in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have lived outside of Australia for eight years)
  7. Not have any criminal convictions (including those in their home country), including those relating to Child Protection and PSEAH
  8. Pacific Secondary School Scholarship Program (PSSSP) recipients who completed their secondary school education in Australia the previous year are eligible to apply for a long-term Australia Award.
  9. Have met any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (for example, having worked in an appropriate sector for a certain number of years)
  10. Be able to meet the admission requirements of the institution where the award will be undertaken (this may require Program Areas to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot meet the institution’s admission requirements). This may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at a particular institution)
  11. Be able to satisfy all Department of Home Affairs requirements to hold a Student Visa. If the recipient is unable to meet the visa requirements, the Program Area may be forced to withdraw an award offer.
  12. Not apply for a scholarship for a course of study at a lower academic level than they already have (for example, applying for a Master’s scholarship when they already have a Ph.D.)

Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application instructions:

Check your country’s open and close dates, and then choose your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for more information on eligibility, priority areas, and how to apply. Applications can be submitted either online or by mail (if unable to apply online). The deadline is May 1, 2023, at 11:59 p.m. AEST.

For detailed and up-to-date information on how to apply for this scholarship, please read the how to apply page and visit the country-specific pages, as well as the official website (link found below).


Official Scholarship Website:

Interested in other scholarships?





Leave a Comment