Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Countries 2023

Commonwealth Master's Scholarship

Masters Degree

Deadline: 18 Oct 2022 (annual)
Study in: UK
Course starts Sept 2023


Brief Description About Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Countries


The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Master’s degrees in the United Kingdom are available to citizens of developing Commonwealth countries. The UK Department for International Development is funding these scholarships (DFID).


Host Institution(s):

UK Universities

Level and Field(s) of study:

Eligible Masters Degree Programme at a UK University

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified

Eligible Countries

Citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country,

Please note that only candidates from the eligible countries listed below can apply for Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships in 2023/24.

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint, Lucia, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia


Scholarship value/inclusions:

Each scholarship provides airfare to and from the United Kingdom, tuition and examination fees, stipend, thesis grant (if applicable), and warm clothing allowance, among others.

  • Flights from your home country to the UK and back at the end of your award (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor the cost of journeys made before your award is confirmed)
  • Full tuition fees are covered by an agreement between the CSC and the UK university, and scholars are not required to pay any portion of the tuition fee.
  • Stipend (living allowance) of £1,236 per month, or £1,516 for those attending universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at current levels)
  • Allowance for warm clothing, if applicable
  • Where applicable, a thesis grant to help with the costs of writing a thesis or dissertation.
  • Study travel grant to help with the cost of studying in the UK or abroad.

If you have children and are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, you are entitled to a child allowance of £529 per month for the first child and £131 per month for the second and third children under the age of 16, if you are accompanied by your children and live at the same address in the UK (rates quoted at current levels)

If you share that you have a disability, the CSC will conduct a full assessment of your needs and determine your eligibility for additional financial assistance.

Eligibility For Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship

To apply for these scholarships, you must do the following:

• Be a citizen of an eligible Commonwealth country or have been granted refugee status by that country, or be a British Protected Person.

• Be a permanent resident of a Commonwealth country.

• Be ready to begin your academic studies in the UK by the beginning of the UK academic year in September 2023.

• Hold a first degree with at least upper second class (2:1) honors or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree) by September 2023. A second UK Master’s degree would not normally be funded by the CSC. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you must provide justification for why you want to pursue this study.

• Be unable to afford to study in the UK without the assistance of this scholarship

• Provided all necessary supporting documentation in the required format


Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship Selection Procedure

The following selection criteria will be used to evaluate applications:

  1. The candidate’s academic standing
  2. The study plan’s quality
  3. Potential impact on the candidate’s home country’s development

Application Instructions

Direct applications for these scholarships are not accepted by the CSC. All applications must go through one of the following nominating bodies: national nominating agencies (the main application route) or selected non-governmental organizations and charitable bodies.

Each nominating body is in charge of its own selection procedure. Check with your nominating body for specific advice and rules for applying, as well as their own eligibility criteria and application deadline.

You must submit your application through the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other applicable forms required by your nominating body. All applications must be submitted by the 18th of October, 2022.


It is important to read to visit the official website (link found below) to access the EAS system and for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.



Official Scholarship Website:



Other scholarships in UK

Scholarships in Canada

Scholarships in Australia

Scholarships in USA


Other Scholarships that might interest you:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.